Wedding preparation

We finally booked our wedding venue last weekend!! Very excited about it.

Neither of us want a big, over the top ceremony. It’s not really who we are. We want a small, immediate family wedding and then a party for friends and extended family at a later date. The venue we have booked is ideal for our small wedding.

We also opted for a winter wedding. If we had a summer wedding we’d want it to be outside and if the weather was horrendous on the day it would just ruin it. The venue we have picked is just perfect for a winter wedding with all its open fires and cosiness.

Before we went on Saturday to meet the wedding co-ordinator, I wrote everything down that we wanted – meal choices, drinks choices, rooms needed etc. I was trying to be organised, hope I didn’t come across like Bridezilla!!! Turned out to be quite a short meeting because she didn’t have to go through anything really, just copied my notes.

This weekend is going to be a bit of a wedding preparation weekend. I want to see if I can do the table decorations myself so I’ll be taking a trip to the local florist to buy a bunch of each of the flowers I want. Below are some pictures I downloaded for inspiration:

image

I’ve never done anything like this before so it could all turn out to be a complete disaster.

I also have an appointment to go and see about wedding and bridesmaid dresses. A friend owns a wedding dress shop in Birkdale Village called The Brides Room of Birkdale and she has some beautiful dresses. I’ve downloaded lots of pictures of the style of dress I want, so hopefully I’ll find the perfect one – not that I can try anything on when I’m 33 weeks pregnant, it’s more of a fact finding mission. The style of bridesmaid dresses have been chosen – I’m having two bridesmaids and then my daughter will be a flower girl. The bridesmaid dresses won’t be the same, I asked them both to pick a style they liked and would wear again. I didn’t want to get them something that got worn once, then thrown in the back of a wardrobe. I’d rather they got something they could get use out of.

Other than paying for everything, there isn’t really a great deal to do.

The Save The Date cards arrived today. I absolutely love them. They are by TillieMint Loves who has a shop on notonthehighstreet – the designs are really pretty and I’ll be ordering the rest of the stationery through them once all the details have been finalised.

image  image

It all seems a bit surreal at the moment. I still can’t believe we’ve actually started organising it.

Leave a Reply

